Pride (7 Deadly Sins) Art Print by Jamie Wyeth
Originally $30.00

From Jamie Wyeth's 2009 exhibition, Jamie Wyeth - Seven Deadly Sins at the Farnsworth Art Museum, Rockland, Maine. The subject’s focus is human frailty, specifically the sins of pride, envy, anger, greed, sloth, gluttony, and lust, codified as the seven deadly sins in the writings of the late thirteenth-century Dominican, Saint Thomas Aquinas. Wyeth’s take on the subject is characteristically his own - the sins are acted out by seagulls, birds the artist has observed for decades along the coast of Maine and from his studios on Monhegan and Matinicus islands. As he noted in an interview for the exhibition, “gulls are nasty birds, filled with their own jealousies and rivalries”

24" x 32" overall paper size


Item #004299

You might also like...